Skip to Content

Press Releases

Wittman Appointed to Bipartisan Indo-Pacific Task Force


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) released the following statement after being appointed to the House Committee on Natural Resource’s bipartisan Indo-Pacific Task Force for the 118th Congress:

“The People’s Republic of China is the free world’s greatest threat – especially to the island nations and territories in the Indo-Pacific region. The bipartisan Indo-Pacific Task Force emphasizes Congress’ commitment to addressing the economic, political, and strategic aggression from the PRC. As a member of this task force, not only am I laser-focused on securing the interests of the United States, but also the interests of our allies.

“Countering the growing threats of the People’s Republic of China is not a partisan issue, and this task force will have an instrumental role in deterring the PRC’s malign behavior and building stronger relationships with our partners and friends in the Indo-Pacific region. I thank Chairman Westerman and Representatives Sablan and Radewagen for their leadership on this task force, and I look forward to our continued work together to reinforce our nation’s interests and priorities.”

The Indo-Pacific Task Force will develop and advance solutions to challenges posed by the People’s Republic of China’s (PRC)  in maintaining America’s capacity to secure its interests and remain engaged with the Freely Associated States (FAS) of the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Federated States of Micronesia, and respond to malign PRC coercive activity. 

Task Force Members: House Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) and U.S. Reps. Amata Radewagen (R-American Samoa), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-CNMI), Rob Wittman (R-Va.), Ruben Gallego (D-Ariz.), Ed Case (D-Hawaii), Harriet Hageman (R-Wyo.), Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-N.M.), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Jim Moylan (R-Guam), Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.), Katie Porter (D-Calif.), and Tom Tiffany (R-Wis.).

To view photos from the Indo-Pacific Task Force press conference, click the attached images.