Skip to Content

Press Releases

Wittman Workforce Development Bill Hits 100-Cosponsor Milestone

Will Allow 529 Accounts to Fund Post-secondary Training Programs

Today, Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) announced that the Freedom to Invest in Tomorrow’s Workforce Act hit a major milestone of obtaining 100 cosponsors, just nine months since the bipartisan bill’s introduction. The Tomorrow’s Workforce Coalition, dedicated to championing and rallying support for the legislation, also continues to grow with more than 760 trade associations, professional societies, and businesses.

“I’m pleased to see support continue to grow for the Freedom to Invest in Tomorrow’s Workforce Act, which will provide students in Virginia and across the nation with additional resources to pay for tuition, exam, training, and supply costs associated with obtaining postsecondary education workforce certifications,” said Rep. Wittman. “The majority of America’s workforce consists of middle-skill jobs that require more than a high school education but not a bachelor’s degree, which is why I’m proud to be leading this legislation in the House. I will keep fighting to equip our students with the tools and resources they need to lead our nation forward.”

The legislation aims to broaden the scope of qualified expenses under 529 savings plans to include postsecondary training and credentialing, including licenses and non-governmental certifications. The bill would provide tax-advantaged resources to families, students, and workers — regardless of whether they possess a college degree — pursuing career growth, mid-career changes, or pathways diverging from traditional academic routes.

“The Freedom to Invest in Tomorrow’s Workforce Act can empower workers of any educational background, skill level or age,” said ASAE President and CEO Michelle Mason, FASAE, CAE. “This pragmatic policy would support all industries and professions that rely on employees with specialized training or credentials. Our community is grateful to the Congressional champions for their commitment to supporting our current and future workforce.”

Cosponsors: Reps. Spanberger (D-VA), James (R-MI), McClellan (D-VA), Grothman (R-WI), Miller (R-OH), Owens (R-UT), Van Duyne (R-TX), Carey (R-OH), Ross (D-NC), Thompson (R-PA), Phillips (D-MN), D-Esposito (R-NY), Wexton (D-VA), Manning (D-NY), Moran (R-TX), Balderson (R-OH), Lawler (R-NY), Amodei (R-NV), Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR), Steube (R-FL), Ruppersberger (D-MD), Bentz (R-OR), Tokuda (D-HI), Jackson (D-NC), Gottheimer (D-NJ), Titus (D-NV), Johnson (R-LA), Craig (D-MN), Barr (R-KY), Carl (R-AL), Johnson (R-OH), Moore (R-AL), Lee (D-NV), Mace (R-SC), Davis (D-NC), Gonzalez (D-TX), Mooney (R-WV), Kiggans (R-VA), Horsford (D-NV), Mrvan (D-IN), Valadao (R-CA), De La Cruz (R-TX), Harris (R-MD), Kean (R-NJ), Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Mann (R-KS), Calvert (R-CA), Gosar (R-AZ), LaTurner (R-KS), Pettersen (D-CO), Carter (R-GA), Scott (R-GA), Westerman (R-AR), Moylan (R-GU), Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA), LaLota (R-NY), Murphy (R-NC), Kilmer (D-WA), Kelly (R-PA), Peters (D-CA), Biggs (R-AZ), Magaziner (D-RI), Budzinski (D-IL), Collins (R-GA), Langworthy (R-NY), Norcross (D-NJ), Kustoff (R-TN), Van Drew (R-NJ), Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Flood (R-NE), Trone (D-MD), Kim (D-NJ), Nunn (R-IA), Neguse (D-CO), Houchin (R-IN), Caraveo (D-CO), Hageman (R-WY), Scholten (D-MI), Fleischmann (R-TN), Jackson (D-IL), Meuser (R-PA), Brownley (D-CA), Bacon (R-NE), LaHood (R-IL), Bost (R-IL), Moore (R-UT), Guest (R-MS), Crawford (R-AR), Williams (R-NY), Bice (R-OK), Posey (R-FL), Ferguson (R-GA), Steil (R-WI), Feenstra (R-IA), DeSaulnier (D-CA), Golden (D-ME), Dean (D-PA), Houlahan (D-PA), Kelly (R-MS), Foushee (D-NC), and Fry (R-SC).