Skip to Content

Press Releases

Wittman, Virginia Leaders Statement on Selection Process For New FBI HQ

Today, Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) joined Gov. Glenn Youngkin, Sens. Mark Warner and Tim Kaine (both D-VA), and Reps. Jen Kiggans (VA-02), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Don Beyer (VA-08), Jennifer McClellan (VA-04), Bobby Scott (VA-03), Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), and Jennifer Wexton (VA-10) to issue a statement following new reports regarding the selection process run by the General Services Administration (GSA) to determine a location for the new headquarters of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI):

“We are deeply disturbed to learn that a political appointee at the General Services Administration overruled the unanimous recommendation of a three-person panel comprised of career experts from the GSA and the Federal Bureau of Investigation concluding that Springfield, Virginia is the site best suited for the new FBI headquarters. We have repeatedly condemned political interference in the independent, agency-run site selection process for a new FBI headquarters. Any fair weighing of the criteria points to a selection of Virginia.  It is clear that this process has been irrevocably undermined and tainted, and this decision must now be reversed.”