Home » news » Press Releases

Press Releases

Wittman honors legacy of Women’s Suffrage in Congressional Record

f t # e
Washington, August 31, 2020 | comments

WASHINGTON - Last week, Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) entered the following remarks into the permanent Congressional Record in recognition of the 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage, when the 19th Amendment was adopted to the Constitution on August 26, 1920. Congressman Wittman’s remarks honor the legacy of all trailblazing women who exercised their right to vote 100 years ago, with a special highlight of the women from Westmoreland County who registered on the first day they were eligible. The path to women’s suffrage was long and filled with many trailblazing women, from all walks of life, who paved the way for women’s full participation in our democratic process. 

Congressman Wittman’s remarks as prepared are below:

“Madam Speaker, I rise today to honor the Centennial of Women’s Suffrage in the United States of America. On August 26, 2020, we celebrated 100 years since the certification of the ratification of the 19th Amendment and the importance of all women’s constitutional right to vote. 

“I want to take a moment to recognize all the female elected leaders throughout the First District of Virginia. I especially would like to pay respect to my close friend, Jo Ann Davis, who served as the second Congresswoman in Virginia, and the first Congresswoman for the First District of Virginia. Congresswoman Davis was a dedicated public servant of the First District of Virginia, and her leadership still benefits our community today. 

“Below are the names of the women in Westmoreland County, my home, who registered to vote on the first day they were eligible:

“Bessie Carte, Azele Ida Caruthers, Mazie Caruthers, Edna Coakley, Ada L. (Cosden) Cooke, Virginia Cox, Mabel (Lampkin) Evans, Anna Elizabeth (Alexander) Fox, Dena Fox, Linda (Lena) E. (Redding) Franklin, Nannie B. Gouldman, Risa Bryan Haynie, Elinor Heflin, Angellis Jackson, Ethel Marie Johnson, Dillie Kelly, Bessie Koher, Mami Marshall, Janice (Jane) (Miller) Mason, Frances Mensh, Naomi L. (Johnson) Miller, Homozelle Montgomery, Carrie Fitzhugh (Ashton) Omohundro, Annie Petty, Virginia Peyton, Mrs. Genevieve (Grisby) Suttle, Clara Inez (Page) Stone, Laura Sullivan, Madoline Taylor, Edna Thomas, Elsie H. Warren, Charlotte Dent Watson, Clara (Denmead) Williams, Alice C. Arnest, Mrs. Gertrude Purcell Anthony, Helen Blackistone, Lucy Bowman, Effie Rae (Dobyns) English, Mrs. M.W. Jackson, Mary Massey, Bertha Effington Lawrence Newton, Helen Tayloe, Gladys Halley Tubman, Mrs. Maria C. Berryman, Judith Amelia (McCoy) Johnson, Alverta N. Johnson, Marietta Johnson, Virginia Alberta (Storrs) Henderson, Maria Jane (Stewart) Gordon, Mattie Fauntleroy, Rose Baber (Porter) Baker, Neenah L. Baker, Mary Emma (Andrews) Brownley, Alice Rebecca (Robertson) Carver, Sallie Thornton Edwards, Ada V. Goodridge, Lizzie Young (McKenny) Goodridge, Frances Hall, Naomi Jane (Harrington) Hall, Naomi Washington Hall, Mrs. E.C. (Juanita “Nita”) Naomi (Porter) Harrington, M.C. Harris, E. Harris, Annie Young Harvey, Ruth (Atwill) Harvey, Sophie Harvey, Mary Edith Healy, Mary Hersey, E.L. Jenkins, Mrs. Nannie Bell (Doleman) Jones, Pauline Harvey Lewis, Lucy Young McKenney, Nannie Lee Robertson, Mary Blanche Robertson, Minnie B. Sanford, Lydia Ann (Marmaduke) Stuart, Clara (Delp) Stuart, Jane (Newton) Walker, Garnett (Newbill) Heflin, Edna Martha (Lyell) Omohundro, and Sarah Jane (Ashton) Reed.

“I want to thank the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission (WSCC) for their hard work in coordinating this important 100th Anniversary of such a significant moment in our history. I also would like to thank the Westmoreland County Museum for their research and dedication to educating our community. 

“Female leaders have played a crucial role in our nation’s history. Therefore, Madam Speaker, I ask that you rise with me in celebrating the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage in the United States of America.”

f t # e

Connect with ROB on facebook

Office Locations