Skip to Content

Press Releases

Wittman Votes “No” on Fourth Short-Term CR in Five Months

Wittman Votes “No” on Fourth Short-Term CR in Five Months

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) voted "no" on the H.R. 195 – Extension of Continuing Appropriations Act. The bill extends existing discretionary appropriations at current levels through February 16, 2018.

"We know the consequences, but yet again we find ourselves budgeting by crisis,” Wittman said. “We should not be funding our government through continuing resolutions (CRs). For the fourth time in five months, Congress has approved a CR that, by nature, will hurt our Armed Forces as it does not allow for proper planning or budgeting. Today I heard Secretary of the Navy Richard Spencer and Admiral John Richardson, Chief of Naval Operations, again detail how detrimental CRs are to our military’s ability to perform the missions we call on them to do. Secretary of Defense, James Mattis, has also been vocal on this topic. CRs lead to insufficient training, unmaintained equipment, and decreased readiness.”

H.R. 192 funds government operations at current levels through February 16, 2018, provides a short-term extension to the National Flood Insurance Program, reauthorizes CHIP through FY 2023, and postpones several tax measures imposed by the Affordable Care Act.

“I understand the importance of extending funding for CHIP and remain committed to seeing this happen, which is why I have supported reauthorizing CHIP,” Wittman said. “However, another CR is a short-term solution to a long-term problem and on principle, it is simply something I could not support. Passing a CR is an abdication of Congress’ duties and responsibilities. As we start the budget process for FY 2019 we have a chance to get back to regular order in the budget process. I remain committed to providing a path to fiscal certainty for our armed services and all other elements of our federal government.”

Congressman Rob Wittman represents the 1st District of Virginia. He serves on the House Natural Resources Committee and the House Armed Services Committee, where he is the Chairman of the Seapower and Projection Forces Subcommittee.


# # #